Then you might be interested in applying to Mobility & Researcher Career Development Programmes, such as the MSCA Actions.

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA)

Individual Fellowships (IF)

This action is meant to support the best, most promising individual researchers from anywhere in the world. Only experienced researchers can apply. This means you will have your doctoral degree or at least four years’ full-time research experience by the time of the call deadline.


There are two types of Individual Fellowships:


1. European Fellowships (EF)

  • Held in the EU or associated countries.
  • Open to researchers either coming to Europe or moving within Europe.
  • Can help to restart research careers after a break such as parental leave.
  • Can also help reintegrate researchers coming back to Europe.

2. Global Fellowships (GF)

  • Fund secondments outside Europe for researchers based in the EU or associated countries.
  • There is a mandatory one-year return period.


In both cases, EF or GF, Mobility across borders is a must. Cross-sectoral mobility is also encouraged.

The grant provides an allowance to cover your living, travel and family costs. The grant is awarded to your host organisation, usually a university, research centre or a company in Europe. The research costs and overheads of the host organisation(s) are also supported.

European Fellowships last from one to two years, Global Fellowships from two to three years.

You submit a research proposal, including your CV. The proposal is written jointly with your chosen host organisation(s) (a university, a research centre or a company).

Are you an organization who is willing to host researchers? Then you might be interested in applying to one of the following actions:

Innovative Training Networks (ITN)

This action is meant to people who are looking for high quality doctoral-level training in and outside academia. Innovative training networks bring together universities, research centres and companies from different countries worldwide to train a new generation of researchers.

The funding boosts scientific excellence and business innovation, and enhances researchers’ career prospects through developing their skills in entrepreneurship, creativity and innovation.


There are three types of ITN:


1. European Training Networks (ETN)

  • It is a joint research training, implemented by at least three partners from in and outside academia.
  • The aim is for the researcher to experience different sectors and develop their transferable skills by working on joint research projects.
  • The organisations should be established in at least three different EU or associated countries.

2. European Industrial Doctorates (EID)

  • It is a joint doctoral training delivered by at least one academic partner entitled to award doctoral degrees, and at least one partner from outside academia, primarily enterprise. Each participating researcher is enrolled in a doctoral programme and is jointly supervised by supervisors from the academic and non-academic sector, where they spend at least 50% of their time.
  • The aim is for the doctoral candidates to develop skills inside and outside academia that respond to public and private sector needs.
  • The organisations should be established in at least two different EU or associated countries.

3. European Joint Doctorates (EJD):

  • A minimum of three academic organisations form a network with the aim of delivering joint, double or multiple degrees. Joint supervision of the research fellow and a joint governance structure are mandatory.
  • The aim is to promote international, intersectoral and multi/interdisciplinary collaboration in doctoral training in Europe.


This action is primarily for organisations such as universities, research centres or companies that propose a research training network. Individuals can apply for the specific positions created by these networks. These are advertised on Euraxess.

The grant covers recruitment and training of each researcher for up to three years. The researcher is hired under an employment contract and benefits from a monthly living allowance, social security cover, a mobility and family allowance.

It also covers research costs including the organisation of joint activities and conferences, management and overhead costs.

At the level of the organisation, the maximum duration of an ITN project is four years.

Research and Innovation Staff Exchange (RISE)

This action is meant for organisations such as universities, research centres or companies – that propose a short term exchange to their staff. Proposals should include at least three partners, which can be universities, research institutions, or non-academic organisations. Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) are encouraged to participate.

This action funds short-term exchanges for staff to develop careers combining scientific excellence with exposure to other countries and sectors. It enables more interaction between academia and non-academic organisations within Europe and worldwide.



Partners get together and propose a joint project. Proposals should highlight networking opportunities, sharing of knowledge and the skills development of staff members.

Research staff of any nationality and any career level (postgraduates to experienced researchers) can undertake a secondment. Staff members working in managerial, technical or administrative roles can also be seconded.

The grant supports the secondment of staff members for one month to one year. They must be engaged in or linked to research and innovation activities for at least six months prior to the secondment. They return to the sending organisation after the secondment, to pass on their knowledge. Funding for a RISE project can last up to four years.


This action aims at stimulating regional, national or international programmes to foster excellence in researchers’ training, mobility and career development, spreading the best practices of Marie Skłodowska-Curie actions.

There are two types of programmes:

1. Doctoral programmes

2. Fellowship programmes